Concealed Pistol License

Passport quality photos are no longer needed. Your picture will automatically come from the Secretary of State.
Applying
  • Application: Concealed Pistol License (CPL) Applications (DOC) can be obtained from the County Clerk's Office.
  • Training: See details below to determine if you need training based on the type of application you are submitting. Training Certificates must be issued within 5 years of application.
  • Fingerprinting: Application MUST be submitted to the County Clerk's Office BEFORE getting fingerprints taken. See details below to determine if you need fingerprints. Fingerprints must be taken by an entity with LiveScan capability.
  • Qualifications: The application contains the eligibility requirements.
New Applicants
  • $100 application fee (Cash, Check, or Money Order) payable to Clinton County Clerk
  • $15 Fingerprint Fee payable to entity taking prints (Note: Fingerprints MUST be taken by LiveScan system. Clinton County Sheriff's Office is the only entity in Clinton County with this capability and they accept Cash, Check, or Money Order).
  • Must present an original training certificate, which complies with Section 5J of 1927, PA 372, to the Clerks Office at the time of submitting the application. Training Certificate must be issued within 5 years of application. (EXCEPTION: Pistol safety training course requirement is waived for an applicant who is a retired police officer or a retired law enforcement officer as defined in MCL 28.41(1)(J))
Renewal Applicants
(Previous license is not expired, or expired within 1 year period before date of application)
  • $115 Application Fee (Cash, Check, or Money Order) payable to Clinton County Clerk
  • No fingerprints required
  • Applicant must certify to a statement on application that he/she has completed at least 3 hours of review of the pistol safety training course.
  • Applicant must certify that he/she has at least one hour of firing range time in the 6 months immediately preceding the renewal application.
Renewal Applicants
(Previous License expired more than 1 year)
  • $100 Application Fee (Cash, Check, or Money Order) payable to Clinton County Clerk
  • $15 Fingerprint Fee payable to entity taking prints. (Note: Fingerprints MUST be taken by LiveScan system. Clinton County Sheriff's Office is the only entity in Clinton County with this capability and they accept Cash, Check, or Money Order).
  • Must present an original training certificate, which complies with Section 5J of 1927, PA 372, to the Clerks Office at the time of submitting the application. Training Certificate must be issued within 5 years of application. (Exception: Pistol safety training course requirement is waived for an applicant who is a retired police officer or a retired law enforcement officer as defined in MCL 28.41(1)(J))
CPLs expire on the applicant's date of birth, and are valid not less than 4 years but no more than 5 years from date of issuance.

For More Information

For additional information regarding a Michigan Concealed Pistol License, visit the Michigan State Police website.