To apply for a marriage license, the application must be made in the County in which one of the applicants' resides and their driver's license must reflect a Clinton County address. The license may be used anywhere in the State of Michigan.
If both applicants live out of the state, then they must apply in the County in which the ceremony will be performed.
What to Bring
To make application in Clinton County, one of the applicants (either applicant may apply, whether or not you are the one that lives within the county) mustbring the following to the Clinton County Clerk's office:
Birth Certificates of both parties. (Michigan law allows county clerks to require a birth certificate). Birth certificates in a foreign language must be translated into English.
Current driver's license or state I.D. (or copy) for both parties. One of these must show residency in Clinton County unless both parties are out-of-state residents getting married in Clinton County.
Social Security numbers of both parties.
$20 ($30 Out of State Residence) - Payment can be made by cash, check or money order payable to Clinton County Clerk.
There is a three day waiting period before the license can be released.
**Your license can be picked up on the day listed below or any day after. Licenses must be picked up prior to your wedding date.
Apply in person:Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
A waiver of the 3-days may be obtained on the showing of good cause to the County Clerk, for an additional $20.00.