Apportionment Commission

Clinton County Apportionment Commission

The County Apportionment Commission is a statutory commission governed under MCL 46.401-46.416. The Apportionment Commission is charged with the responsibility of apportioning the County into commissioner districts.

County Boards of Commissioners were established by the state legislature in 1967 pursuant to PA 261 of 1966. Prior to this Act, County Boards of Commissioners were known as County Boards of Supervisors.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Apportionment Commission is comprised of the County Clerk, County Treasurer, County Prosecuting Attorney and the Chairperson of the two major political parties. (MCL 46.403)


The Apportionment Commission convenes every 10 years following the publication of the latest United States official decennial census figures. The County Apportionment Commission shall apportion the county into not less than 5 nor more than 35 county commissioner districts as nearly of equal population as is practicable within the limitations and guidelines as set forth in the statute. Once the County Apportionment Commission adopts and files a plan, a copy must be filed with the Secretary of State, along with a resolution, a description of the districts and a map showing the new district boundaries.

Adopted Plan/Map