County Planning Commission


  • 6:30 p.m.
  • Meets the 2nd Thursday of each month
  • 100 E State Street
    Board of Commissioners Room, 2nd Floor
    St. Johns, MI 48879

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Roni Christmas, Chairperson
  • Patti Schafer, Vice-Chair
  • Sara Clark Pierson, Secretary 
  • Adam Stacey, Board of Commission Ex-Officio
  • Frank Trierweiler
  • Mark Simon
  • Willis Heisey


  • Term: 3-year terms


The Planning Commission (PC) consists of 7 members who individually represent major interests as they exist in the County; such as agriculture, recreation, education, government, transportation, industry, and commerce, for 3 year terms. The Board of Commissioners (BOC) shall establish the basis for representative membership on the PC. At least 1 member of the BOC shall serve on the PC as a representative of the BOC. 
The PC recommends approval/denial to the Board of Commissioners on the following issues:
  • Special Use Permits
  • Site Plan Reviews
  • Zoning Map Amendments
  • Zoning Ordinance (Text) Amendments
  • Comprehensive Plan Updates